NRM releases roadmap for primaries in New districts

NRM EC Dr. Tanga Odoi released the NRM primaries roadmap for the Woman MP and LC5 seats in the six newly created districts of Nabilatuk, Kapelebyong, Bugweri, Kwania, Kassanda and Kikuube (FILE PHOTO)

KAMPALA – A week after claiming majority seats in the recently concluded LCI and municipality elections, the ruling National Resistance Movement party (NRM) has announced plans to win the Woman MP and LC5 seats in the six newly created districts of Nabilatuk, Kapelebyong, Bugweri, Kwania, Kassanda and Kikuube.

Releasing a roadmap for the party primaries in the respective districts, the NRM Electoral Commission chairperson, Dr Tanga Odoi, said the party primaries in the respective districts will be held on 15th August 2018.

Dr Tanga added that they have consultative meetings in every district and they are now updating the voters’ registers.

“Joint campaigns are ongoing and I would like to urge candidates and other stakeholders to maintain the current spirit of campaigning jointly and peaceful,” he told journalists at their party offices in Kampala on Thursday.

Dr Odoi added that candidates will run their joint campaigns up to 12th August ahead of polling day.

“I warn all aspiring candidates and other interested parties to refrain from engaging in any form of campaign until the gazetted time as laid out in the announced NRM EC roadmap,” he said.

Dr Odoi said that the National EC shall hold elections for women council committees at sub-county, town council, and division level on 3rd August, after which the party shall hold primaries for the same district level.

“Chairpersons of the sub-county, town council, division women council executive committees in the district who are NRM and a representative of Woman with disabilities elected from among the female persons with disabilities in the district through their structures,” he said.

The tentative roadmap for party primaries is as follows:

  • From 7th to 9th August will be expression of interest and picking nomination forms. 9th to 11th August will be nomination days, then consultative meeting with stakeholders.
  • From 17 to 21 August, there will be updating of voter’s registers, 13 to 25th August will be joint campaigns and 27th polling day

The government recently established new administrative units creating 2,828 positions of leadership to be filled in 53 districts in the country. The newly created areas include seven municipalities, 194 sub-counties, 64 town and 23 municipal divisions.



All rights reserved. The information contained in this website may not be published, broadcast, re-written or re- distributed without the prior written authority of the publishers

Copyright © 2017. PML Daily

To Top