NRM picks Tiperu for Arua as race to replace Abiriga kicks off

Nusura Tiperu contributes to the debate on Tourism. The former EALA legislator trounced seven opponents in the July 18 hotly contested NRM primaries for the Arua Municipality MP party flag bearer (FILE PHOTO)

ARUA – The Electoral Commission (EC) will on Thursday July 19 start the nomination of candidates contending for the Arua Municipality parliamentary seat.

According to the Electoral Commission Chairman, Justice Simon Byabakama, the nomination exercise is to run for two days at Arua District Headquarters.

Nomination is to be followed by a campaign period for the successful candidates running from July 23 to August 13, 2018 ahead of polls slated for Wednesday August 15 at all polling stations in Arua Municipality.

National Resistance Movement (NRM) has fronted Ms Nusura Tiperu, former East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) representative after she trounced seven others in a hotly contested race on Wednesday 18.

Tiperu got 1,797 votes to carry the party flag against her closest rival Swadik Angupale who garnered 1,443.

Other contested in the race include, Atim Jackson (1362), John Lamatia (203) Muhamad Ali Auma (108) godgrey Obiga (91) and Khalifah Mbarack (59)

Speaking to a local radio station in Kampala, NRM’s electoral commission chairman Dr. Tanga Odoi said

Tanga said the party flag bearer is to be presented at Arua district headquarters for nomination on Thursday July 19.

The opposition Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) party already named Bruce Musema as its flag bearer in the August 15 by-election.

The seat fell vacant after the incumbent, NRM’s Col Ibrahim Abiriga, was gunned down alongside his brother, Saidi Kongo, in Kawanda, Wakiso District, on June 8.



All rights reserved. The information contained in this website may not be published, broadcast, re-written or re- distributed without the prior written authority of the publishers

Copyright © 2017. PML Daily

To Top