Uganda names team for Zone V Volleyball games

The Boy’s team posing for a photo (courtesy photo)

Africa Zone V Youth Games Qualifiers

Kampala, Uganda

Thursday, 42-05-2018.


Uganda has announced their final squads ahead of the upcoming Zone V Africa Youth games, qualifiers.

The championships are slated to start on Thursday, 24-05-2018 in Uganda’s capital, Kampala.

Uganda’s teams (Boys and Girls) have camped for the last two weeks, enabling the coaching staff to select the best players to give Uganda better chance of reaching the championships proper.

The girls’ team head coach Protus Soita girls revealed during the course of the week that the players selected of the right age.

“Because there is pressure to perform, most teams tend to select over age players but it is not the case with our teams, i can assure you of that, said Soita.

The Girls’s team posing for a photo (courtesy photo)

Raffi Bachu, the head coach of the Boys team has trimmed his side to 14 players while Soita only has 12 for the final event.

The boys’ team captain Joseph Okello believes the training the players have had plus guidance from coaches in the last two weeks will be enough for the team to scale the heights at the 3-day event to be played at the MTN arena in Lugogo.

Kenya and Egypt are the two countries to have confirmed participation in the event while the federation is still waiting on Rwanda and South Sudan’s confirmation.

The biggest challenge for Uganda is the fact that the teams have not had time to train at Lugogo indoor stadium and will find it hard to adapt to indoor volleyball.

The tournament is set to start on Wednesday with the technical meeting and games proper serve off on Thursday.

The winner of each category will qualify for the finals games.


Ayebale Happy
Ssengoba Tony
Olokotum Allan
Ociti Jacob
Okello Joseph
Adome Hussein
Tumwebaze Vincent
Ayella Emmanuel
Opedun Allan
Tumushabe Asaph
Batenda Eric
Omuna Lazarus
Okot Romano
Ainomugisha Ivan

Coachs: Raffi Bachu
Obeke Nicholas
Kazibwe Dan


Asio Violet
Ankunda Denise
Akareut Name
Nanyanzi Ketty
Ainembabazi Catherine
Nyachwo Margarete
Abalo Ritah
Kuloba Martha
Aluka Ketty
Ajimo Lydia
Inyongat Jesca
Namawejje Margarette

Coachs: Soita Protus
Sadat Waguma
Osiya Joshua



All rights reserved. The information contained in this website may not be published, broadcast, re-written or re- distributed without the prior written authority of the publishers

Copyright © 2017. PML Daily

To Top