Uganda Hippos intensify preps for COSAFA U-20 tournament

the Hippos stretching after a work out yesterday morning. Photo by Shaban Lubega.

The Uganda U-20 team (The Hippos) have continued with preparations for the COSAFA U-20 championships with a double session on Thursday.

The Uganda under age team which was invited to take part in the South African based nations tournament trained outside the Mandela National stadium in the morning and afternoon as they prepare for the 10 day tournament in Zambia.

The group that had trained a day earlier were joined by the KCCA duo of Mustapha Kizza and teenage sensation Muhammed Shaban who had missed the opening day training since they had traveled with their club for the Azam Uganda Premier league engagement in Mbarara.

Most players responded well to the double session apart from Dickens Kilama, Raymond Onyai and goalkeeper Saidi Keni who picked minor knocks in the due course.

Head coach Mathias Lule was once again overwhelmed by the attitude of the youngsters.

“The double sessions have been good and the players are adjusting well. Said Lule.

“By the time we travel next week, every player will be in shape and hopefuly we can do the country proud.

Lule is deputized by James Odoch and the goalkeeping coach Samuel Kawalya as the technical team that is tasked with the job of developing these kids into future Cranes stars.


A. Zambia, Swaziland, Uganda and Malawi.

B. South Africa, Egypt, Mozambique and Mauritius.

C. Angola, Lesotho, Namibia and Zimbabwe.

Players who attended Thursday’s session:

Goalkeepers: Keni Saidi (Proline), Eric Kibowa (Vipers/ St Mary’s Kitende), Ali Mwerusi (St Mary’s Kitende S.S).

Defenders: Fred Okot (URA), Geofrey Wasswa (Vipers), Bashir Askiu (Vipers / St Mary’s Kitende), Victor Matovu (Aspire Football Academy), Mustapha Kizza (KCCA), Mustapha Mujjuzi (Proline), Clinton Kamugisha (Mbarara City FC).

Midfielders: Azake Luboyera (Ottawa Fury, USL), Kasule Abubaker Muhammad (Express FC), Julius Poloto (KCCA), Frank ‘Zagga’ Tumwesigye (Vipers), Shafiq Kagimu (URA), Pius Obuya (Maroons), Gadaffi Wahabu (Onduparaka), Muhammed Ochaya Sharif (Express), Nicholas Kagaba (URA).

Strikers: Muhammed Shaban (KCCA), Steven Mukwala (URA), Pius ‘Muzeei’ Wangi (Vipers), Hamis Tibita (BUL), Raymond Onyai (Kataka)



All rights reserved. The information contained in this website may not be published, broadcast, re-written or re- distributed without the prior written authority of the publishers

Copyright © 2017. PML Daily

To Top