UG Cup final: Proline, Bright Stars eye maiden title

The two head coaches, Proline’s Shafick Bisaso (left) and Bright Stars’ Fred Kajoba (right) have a feel of the Uganda Cup trophy ahead of the final on Saturday. (PHOTOS/FILE)

Stanbic Uganda Cup final
Proline FC vs Bright Stars FC
Masaka Recreational Ground, Masaka
Saturday, 25-05-2019 @3:30pm
Referee: Ali Sabila

MASAKA – Proline and Bright Stars will do battle on Saturday as the two sides seek to win a first ever Uganda Cup crown.

Both have had a fairly impressive season and would very much love to cap it with the Cup crown.

Proline are seeking to win their second title in 7 days after winning the FUFA Big League last Saturday following a 1-0 win over Wakiso Giants at Lugogo.

Proline have just won the Big League tittle 7 days ago.

Shafick Bisaso’s side have been in good form this season as they also won the Rwenzori Group in the FUFA Big League on their way to making an instant return to the top flight.

Meanwhile, Bright Stars are also coming off their best ever season in the top flight.

Fred Kajoba’s side finished 8th with 41 points, their best tally in a season ever since attaining promotion to the top tier in 2013.

What the coaches are saying before the game

Shafick Bisaso, Proline FC

“As Proline, we are excited about being in the finals and are motivated. We are not looking at history but we know time is on our side.

“We have been working hard. This is our first final and we want to play good football so that everyone enjoys the game.

“We respect our opponents because they are a bigger team who play in the top tier and have a very good coach but we do not fear them and are ready to do all we can to win.

Fred Kajoba, Bright Stars head coach

“As Bright Star coach, my team is ready for the finals and i am confident my team will play good football.

“It is not my first time to coach in a final and i am sure at the end of the day, we will defeat Proline because we are slightly better than them.

Going into the game, both teams have no major injury concerns and have been boosted by the release of Key players from the national team.

Proline have seen both Bright Anukani and Mustafa Mujjuzi released by the COSAFA team and the pair will be a major boost for them. Anukani has just been named the MVP of the 2018/19 FUFA Big League and his link up play with captain Nordin Bunjo is a joy to watch.

For Bright Stars, they also have Captain Nelson Ssenkatuka returning from the National team. Ssenkatuka scored the winning penalty as they eliminated Express FC in the semi finals at the start of the month.

How they got to the finals

Bright Stars

Fred Kajoba’s side defeated Kazo Excel 4-0 in the Round of 64 stage, they went on to eliminate Bumate on penalties in the round of 32. In the last 16, they defeated URA 2-1 away from home before sealing a semifinal spot off a 1-0 win against Nebii Central.

In the semis, they required penalties to dispatch Express after a 2-2 draw on aggregate.

Bright Stars eliminated Express in the semis. (PHOTO/FILE)


Proline eliminated Light SS, Nyamityobora, Onduparaka, Vipers and Kyetume to reach the finals. In the Vipers game, they required extra time while penalties separated them from Kyetume.

Match Facts

This will be the 7th meeting between Proline and Bright Stars.

In the previous six, Proline have never lost to Bright Stars, winning 2 and drawing 4.

However, all the previous fixtures came in the League and this will be the first time the two sides meet in the cup.

Proline’s two victories have come at home.

In their last match-up, the two sides shared spoils 0-0 in the League back on 13-05-2019.

Previous Uganda Cup winners since 1971

-1971: Coffee SC
1972-1975: competition suspended
-1976: Gangama United
-1977: Simba
-1978: Nsambya
-1979: KCC
-1980: KCC
-1981: Coffee
-1982: KCC
-1983: SC Villa
-1984: KCC
-1985: Express
-1986: SC Villa
-1987: KCC
-1988: SC Villa
-1989: SC Villa
-1990: KCC
-1991: Express
-1992: Express
-1993: KCC
-1994: Express
-1995: Express
-1996: UEB
-1997: Express
-1998: SC Villa
-1999: Mbalr Heroes
-2000: SC Villa
-2001: Express
-2002: SC Villa
-2003: Express
-2004: KCC
-2005: URA
-2006: Express
-2007: Express
-2008: Victors
-2009: Villa
-2010: Victors
-2011: Simba
-2012: URA
-2013: SC Victoria University
z2014: URA
-2015: SC Villa 3-0 KCC
-2016: Vipers SC 3-1
-2017: KCCA FC
-2018: KCCA



Copyright@2019: PMLDaily

To Top