Vipers’ Waiswa crowned best of 2017/18 at Airtel FUFA Awards

Waiswa (left) and Aturo (right) were crowned Male and Female players of 2017/18 respectively (Photos by FUFA Media)

MUNYONYO – Vipers Sports Club and Uganda Cranes midfielder Moses Waiswa was on Friday evening crowned the Airtel-FUFA Male player of the year during a ceremony held at Speke Resort Munyonoyo.

Waiswa who has had a breakthrough year (2018), where he has tied up a starting spot at both Vipers and the National team beat of competition from KCCA’s Allan Okello and Onduparaka’s Vianne Ssekajugo.

Speaking after winning the award, Waiswa thanks his teammates, acknowledging their efforts in his journey.

“I thank FUFA for organizing such good awards, said Waiswa.

“I have worked hard for it all year round and ready for new life challenges.

“I appreciate the effort of my teammates at Vipers and on the national team as well as the nominees and winners in the awards.

Waiswa now joins Farook Miya (2015), Shaban Muhammad (2016) and Muzamir Mutyaba (2017) as the only players to have won the award.

Meanwhile, Uganda Christian University (UCU) and Crested Cranes goalkeeper Ruth Aturo scooped the best female footballer of the season 2017/18, at the awards.

Aturo beat Crested Cranes captain and Kawempe Muslim midfielder Tracy Jones Akiror as well as Uganda Martyrs High school Lubaga defender Shadia Nankya to the gong.

The goalkeeper was outstanding in the Crested Cranes team during the CECAFA Women tournament held in Rwanda and the COSAFA championship in South Africa where Uganda was invited as a guest country.

In both tournaments, she was named the best goalkeeper of the tournament. Domestically, Aturo’s performance in the goal posts inspired UCU to their first major silverware when they clinched the FUFA Women cup.

At the same ceremony, Dr Lawrence Mulindwa was named the FUFA Presidential Awards winner, a special catergory selected by the FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo.

Dr. Mulindwa (left) took home the FUFA Presidential Award

This award is conferred upon an individual who is deemed by the FUFA president to have contributed to the game of football exceptionally. Previous winners of this award included Paul Ssali, Ali Tomusange and Muhammood “Blatter” Kalema.

“I am very honoured to receive the FUFA Presidential award. I thank all those who came up with this idea of initiating awards to recognize the efforts of individuals in football. Football is a team sport and together we can achieve much more success with 2026 World Cup a top target” Dr. Mulindwa stated in his speech.

FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo, in his key note speech appreciated the role of all stake holders in developing the game right from the players, coaches, administrators, referees, fans, sponsors and government.

He categorically pointed out the value of team work in developing this beautiful game.

“Football is and will remain a team work sport. Collective responsibility is therefore a key pillar in this development process. I thank the government for having supported the development of football in particular and all the other key stake holders” Eng. Magogo noted.

Chief guest Florence Nakiwala Kiyingi, also the FUFA third Vice president and state minister for Youth and children’s affairs congratulated all the different winners on the night.

She reiterated the strong value that the Government attaches to football and their endeavors to continue supporting the growth of the game of football among other games.

“Government will continue supporting football and other sporting disciplines.  The success story for football in the recent past is no mean achievement. Please maintain the good transparency and accountable practices” Hon. Nakiwala remarked.

Other awards:

Ndejje University striker Noel Nasasaira, on loan from KCCA FC was named the Airtel FUFA Big League player of the year.

KCCA’s Mustafa Kizza took home the Airtel FUFA most promising player award (playing in the Star Times Uganda Premier League between 20-23 years of age).

KCCA Football Club manager Mike Mutebi took home the Airtel FUFA Coach of the year, like the script was in 2017 and 2016.

Mutebi (Center) was voted Coach of the Year

FIFA Referee Brian Miiro Nsubuga (Airtel FUFA referee of the year), Shamirah Nabukenya (Airtel FUFA Upcoming referee of year), Meddie Kibirige (Airtel FUFA Beach Soccer player of the year), Maroons Football Club (Airtel FUFA Fair play of the year), Allan Okello (Airtel FUFA fans’ favourite player of the year based in Uganda), Uganda Cranes captain Dennis Onyango (fans’ favourite Ugandan player – foreign based) and Khassim Kyazze (fan of the year).

The Airtel FUFA Best eleven of the season:

SC Villa goalkeeper Samson Kirya, Paul Willa (Police), Mustafa Kizza (KCCA), Timothy Denis Awany (KCCA), Henry Katongole (Vipers), Nicholas Kasozi (KCCA), Moses Waiswa (Vipers), Allan Okello (KCCA), Dan Muzeyi Sserunkuma (Vipers), Nelson Senkatuka (Bright Stars) and Viane Sekajugo (Onduparaka).

Meanwhile, Joseph Mubiru was named the 102.1 FUFA f.m best listener of the year.

The award winners received an instant cash reward each of Shs 1M, transferred electronically to their respective accounts.

Chairperson of the Airtel FUFA Awards organizing committee Rogers Byamukama thanked all the sponsors for putting the resources together to have an eventful ceremony.



Copyright@2019: PMLDaily

To Top