3*3 National teams flagged off for Africa Cup

Both the Men’s and Women’s team during the flagging off on Wednesday (Photo by FUBA Media)

LUGOGO – On Wednesday, 07-11-2018, Uganda’s Men and Women 3*3 national teams have been flagged off to take part in the FIBA 3*3 Africa Cup.

The three days event will take place in Lome, Togo starting November 9-11.

This is the second edition of the tourney.

Uganda managed to secure their ticket to this year’s event after the qualifiers held in Madagascar, and by virtue of their ranking on the continent.

Uganda is ranked number three and number one in Men and Women respectively in Africa.

The team leaves Wednesday night for Togo and they have been well funded by the Government.

Speaking during the flag off held at Copper Chimney in Lugogo, Federation of Uganda Basketball Association Vice Marketing and Communications, Grace Kwizera, noted:

“As a federation, we are very proud of the achievements we have made and continue to make inputting Uganda at the world stage. said Kwezira.

“Our 3*3 National team program is robust and continues to grow as we push towards the dream of Olympic qualification in 2020.

“We are grateful to the government of Uganda through the National Council of Sports (NCS) for the support they have offered to our teams.

Uganda is in Pool A together with Cape Verde and Ghana for the women Category.

Cape Verde and Nigeria are Uganda’s Group C opponents in the men’s category.

A total of 12 teams will compete at the second edition of the FIBA 3×3 Africa Cup.

Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Egyp, Gambia, Madagascar, Mauritania, Mali, Niger, Seychelles, Tanzania are the other teams to take part.

Uganda finished eighth and third for Men and women respectively last year. Nigeria (men) and Mali (Women).

The Travelling Contingent:

The leader of Delegation  – Ambrose Tashobya.

Official – Hamza Nyambogo

Women’s Team:
Jamila Nansikombi (JKL)
Ritah Imanishimwe (JKL)
Sarah Ageno (UCU)
Hope Akello (JKL)

Men’s Team:
James Okello (City Oilers)
Mark Opiyo Okidi (Pemba Warriors)
Athieu Madol (Betway Power)
Tony Drilleba (City Oilers)



All rights reserved. The information contained in this website may not be published, broadcast, re-written or re- distributed without the prior written authority of the publishers

Copyright © 2017. PML Daily

To Top