Yasser Mugerwa dropped as Desabre trims squad to 24

Yasser Mugerwa (24) is one of the players that have been dropped by Sebastian Desabre (photo by FUFA media)

AFCON 2019 Qualifiers

Uganda vs Tanzania

Mandela National Stadium, Namboole

Saturday, 08-09-2018 @04:00pm

Sebastien Desabre the Uganda Cranes head coach has come up with a final squad of the team that is going to face Tanzania on Saturday.

After Monday’s morning training session at the Star times Stadium-Lugogo Desabre announced a list of 24 players without Yassar Mugerwa who has been having personalized training with other players who are off season.

Others players left out include Martin Kizza, Mustaffa Mujjuzi, Allan Kyambadde, Isaac Isinde and goal keeper Nicholas Sebwato.

The 24man squad enters residential camp on Monday evening at Jokas Hotel in Kirekka

Among the summoned players Joseph Ochaya while addressing the press called upon the fans to come support the team in big numbers because they get more confident when they (fans) come.

“We ask our fans to come and support us in big numbers because we are going to embarrass the Tanzanians in Namboole come Saturday.

Captain Denis Onyango, Derrick Nsibambi, William Luwagga Kizito, Allan Kateregga, Yunus Sentamu, Moses Opondo and Faruku Miya are expected to join camp soon.

The match against Tanzania will be both sides’ second game of the campaign. Uganda leads group L with three points after a 1-0 win away to Cape Verde while Tanzania drew 1-1 at home to Lesotho and currently sit third.

Uganda and Tanzania lock horns in a group L East African derby game that will be handled by West African referees.

Gabonese referee Eric Otogo-Canstane will handle the center refereeing tasks, assisted by Moussounda Montel (Gabon) and Chad’s Issa Yaya as first and second assistants respectively.

The final squad;

Goalkeepers: Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Jamal Salim (El Meriekh, Sudan), Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC, Uganda),

Right Backs: Nico Wakiro Wadada (Azam, Tanzania), Denis Iguma (Kazma FC, Kuwait).

Left Backs: Godfrey Walusimbi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa) FC, Isaac Muleme (Haras El Hodood, Egypt)

Central Defenders: Murushid Juuko (Simba Sports Club, Tanzania) , Denis Timothy Awanyi (KCCA FC, Uganda)

Holding Midfielders: Hassan Wasswa (El Geish, Egypt), Khalid Aucho (Un-attached), Ibrahim Sadam Juma (KCCA FC, Uganda), Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC, Uganda)

Attacking Midfielders: William Luwagga Kizito (BATE Borisov, Belarus), Joseph Ochaya (Lusaka Dynamo, Zambia), Moses Opondo ( Vendsyssel, Denmark), Allan Kateregga (Cape Town City, South Africa), Faruku Miya (Gorica, Croatia), Moses Waiswa (Vipers Sc, Uganda)

Forwards: Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (Simba SC, Tanzania), Yunus Sentamu (FK Tirana, Albania), Edrisa Lubega (SV Ried, Austria), Derrick Nsibambi (Smouha, Egypt), Patrick Henry Kaddu (KCCA FC, Uganda)



All rights reserved. The information contained in this website may not be published, broadcast, re-written or re- distributed without the prior written authority of the publishers

Copyright © 2017. PML Daily

To Top