Full house as Cranes continue preps for AFCON qualifier

Some of the Cranes players in training ahead of the Tanzania game (photo by FUFA Media)

TOTAL AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Group L)

Uganda Cranes Vs Tanzania Taifa Stars

Mandela National Stadium

Saturday, 08-09-2-2019 04:00pm

NAMBOOLE – With less than 72 hours to the crucial AFCON qualifier against Tanzania, the Uganda football National team, the Cranes on Wednesday conducted their first training session with all 24 expected players available.

The arrival of the remaining European based players-Yunus Sentamu, Faruku Miya,William Kizito Luwagga and William Opondo on Tuesday early morning ignited steam among the fellow players and the technical team as well.

Having been offered rest from the Tuesday morning session, the four players trained with the rest of the 20 players on Wednesday during the closed door training at Mandela National Stadium.

The Cranes have two more training sessions (Thursday morning and Friday afternoon) before facing long-time rivals, Tanzania on Saturday.

The match against Tanzania will be both sides’ second game of the campaign. Uganda leads group L with three points after a 1-0 win away to Cape Verde while Tanzania drew 1-1 at home to Lesotho and currently sit third.

Uganda and Tanzania lock horns in a group L East African derby game that will be handled by West African referees.

Gabonese referee Eric Otogo-Canstane will handle the center refereeing tasks, assisted by Moussounda Montel (Gabon) and Chad’s Issa Yaya as first and second assistants respectively.

Full Board Uganda Cranes Team in camp:

Goalkeepers: Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Jamal Salim (El Meriekh, Sudan), Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC, Uganda)

Defenders: Murushid Juuko (Simba Sports Club, Tanzania), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda (El Geish, Egypt), Denis Timothy Awanyi (KCCA FC, Uganda), Denis Iguma (Kazma FC, Kuwait), Nico Wakiro Wadada (Azam, Tanzania), Godfrey Walusimbi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa) FC, Isaac Muleme (Haras El Hodood, Egypt).

Midfielders: Faruku Miya (HNK Gorica, Croatia), William Luwagga Kizito (BATE Borisov, Belarus), Moses Opondo (Vendsyssel, Denmark), Joseph Ochaya (Lusaka Dynamo, Zambia), Allan Kateregga (Cape Town City, South Africa), Moses Waiswa (Vipers, Uganda), Khalid Aucho (Un-attached), Ibrahim Sadam Juma (KCCA FC, Uganda), Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC, Uganda)

Forwards: Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (Simba SC, Tanzania), Edrisa Lubega (SV Ried, Austria), Derrick Nsibambi (Smouha, Egypt), Yunus Sentamu (FC Tirana, Albania), Patrick Henry Kaddu (KCCA FC, Uganda)



All rights reserved. The information contained in this website may not be published, broadcast, re-written or re- distributed without the prior written authority of the publishers

Copyright © 2017. PML Daily

To Top