Onen names final squad for AFCON U17 Qualifiers

U17 players in training at the Njeru Technical Center (Photo by FUFA Media)

Uganda U17 national team head coach Peter Onen has named his final squad that will represent the nation at the AFCON U17 regional qualifiers in Tanzania.

After weeks of intensive training at Njeru technical center, Onen picked 20 out of the 26 players that he initially summoned.

11 of the players in the squad featured at the CECAFA U17 tournament early this year.

The others are new faces on the team including Polycap Mwaka from Football for Good Academy, Gulu.

The tournament will run from the 12th of this month and will see Uganda face Ethiopia on opening day.

Uganda is in group B alongside Ethiopia, Djibouti, Kenya and South Sudan.

The winner of the tournament will represent the East Africa region at the U17 AFCON final which will be hosted by Tanzania.

The final squad of 20 players:

Goal Keepers:

Semwogere Daniel (UPDF JT FC), Oluka George (Buddo SS), Oyo Delton (KJSSS FC JT)


Ssekimbegga Kevin (Buddo SS), Kafumbe Joseph (Buddo SS), Kasozi Samson (Bright Stars FC JT,) Kizito Mugweri Gavin (SC Villa), John Rogers (Onduparaka FC JT), Juma Ibrahim (KCCA SA), Ekolot Ibrahim (Bright Stars FC JT)


Ssekajja Davis (Bright Stars FC JT), Owane Yasin Abdul (Rock High School),  Mwaka Polycap (Football For Good Academy Gulu),Kakaire Thomas (SC Vipers JT), Alowo John Kokas (URA FC JT), Ngonde Elvis (KJSSS FC JT)


Iddi Abdul Wahid (Onduparaka FC JT), Asaba Ivan (SC Vipers JT), Yiga Najib (Kisozi Seed High School), Mukisa Owen (BUL FC JT)

Uganda’s fixture at the AFCON U17 Zonal Qualifiers

Sunday, 12-08-2018

Uganda vs Ethiopia

Friday, 17-08-2018

South Sudan vs Uganda

Sunday, 19-08-2018

Kenya vs Uganda

Wednesday, 22-08-2018

Uganda vs Djibouti



All rights reserved. The information contained in this website may not be published, broadcast, re-written or re- distributed without the prior written authority of the publishers

Copyright © 2017. PML Daily

To Top