Rugby Cranes team for Namibia clash named

The Uganda Rugby Cranes kick-start their Gold cup campaign this weekend (Courtesy Photos)

Africa Rugby Gold Cup 2018

Namibia vs Uganda

Windhoek, Namibia

Saturday, 16-06-2018

The Uganda Rugby Cranes team that is slated to take on African giants Namibia this weekend has been named.

A team of 23 players was summoned last night by head coach John Duncan and his assistant Robert Seguya and they will be preparing for the Rugby Africa Gold Cup in Windhoek this Saturday.

The Cranes start their campaign away from home and will feature new faces at this level.

Paul Sekatte, Eliphaz Emong, Ian Munyani and Adrian Kasiito will all be making their international debut and have been thrown in to start.

Team captain Asuman Mugerwa will lead the new look front row that has debutant Sekatte and Saul Kivumbi, the latter takes the place of Edgar Pajob, who had a debut to forget against Kenya in the Elgon Cup.

Charles Uhuru returns to the team having sat out the first leg of the Elgon Cup and will pair with another debutant in the shape of Emong while Arthur Mukama replaces Marvin Odong in the back row.

There’s a return of James Ijongat at half back and he will take the place occupied by Ivan Magomu in the last few outings.

Aaron Ofoyrwoth is set to start his first international at scrumhalf while Pius Ogena will partner Munyani in the midfield.

Betway Kobs’ back Adrian Kasiito will have his first full international debut at fullback.

Black Pirates’ scrumhalf Conrad Wanyama will have a place on the bench alongside the Returning Lawrence Sebuliba.

After Namibia, the Cranes will then travel to Kenya on 7th-July before hosting Tunisia at the start of August in their first home game.

The last two fixtures will also be at home and will see John Duncan’s men host Morocco and Zimbabwe on 11th and 18th of August respectively.

John Duncan is the head coach of the Rugby Cranes

The top side in the Gold cup advances to the 2019 Rugby World cup while the runners up advances to a repechage tournament for a final chance to attain qualification.

1.Asuman Mugerwa
2.Paul Sekatte
3.Saul Kivumbi
4.Charles Uhuru
5.Eliphaz Emong
6.Byron Oketayot
7.Brian Asaba
8.Arthur Mukama
9.Aaron Ofoyrwoth
10.James Ijogat
11.James Odong
12.Pius Ogena
13.Ian Munyani
14.Justin Kimono
15.Adrian Kasito
16.Joseph Tamale
17.Collins Kibowa
18.Adnan Mutebi
19.Robert Aziku
20.Musa Muwonge
21.Conrad Wanyama
22.Eric Mula
23.Lawrence Sebuliba



All rights reserved. The information contained in this website may not be published, broadcast, re-written or re- distributed without the prior written authority of the publishers

Copyright © 2017. PML Daily

To Top