KCCA draw record champions Al Ahly in CAF league

Al Ahly has won more champions league titles than any other side in history.

CAF Champions league group A.

▪Al Ahly(Egypt)


▪KCCA FC(Uganda)

▪Township Rollers(Botswana)

KCCA FC have been drawn in group A of the CAF Champions league where they will play teams that have 10 titles between them.

The draw that was conducted on Wednesday evening sees eight-time record champions Al Ahly, two time winners Esperance and debutants Township Rollers drawn alongside the two-time Azam Uganda premier league champions.

Al Ahly, who will be targeting their ninth champions league crown, lost 2-1 on aggregate to Moroccan side Wydad Casablanca in last season’s finals.

The Egyptian giants last won the title in 2013 when they defeated Esperance 3-2 in the finals.

Tunisian heavyweights Esperance won the champions league in 1995 and 2011, and will be gunning for their third title in Africa’s ultimate club show piece event.

When they last won it in 2011, they defeated Morocco’s Wydad Casablanca 1-0 on aggregate.

Last season, the Tunis-based side lost 4-3 to Al Ahly on aggregate in the quarter finals.

KCCA’s last opponents, Township Rollers will be making their maiden performance at this stage like KCCA FC themselves.

What makes them special is the fact that former KCCA midfielder Ivan Ntege plays for them.

The hard-working box-to-box defensive midfielder moved from KCCA to the Rollers this past summer after months of being frustrated on the bench.

Ivan Ntege moved from KCCA to Township Rollers last year.

At Township Rollers, Ntege seems to have finally found a home as he has featured prominently in both the domestic league and CAF Champions league and helped the Botswana side eliminate Al-Merrikh and Young Africans in the preliminary and first rounds of the competition respectively.

With him leaving at the start of the season due to limited playing time, he will surely have scores to settle with the Lugogo-based side after all.

Esperance last won the champions league in 2011.

The CAF Champions league group stages of 2018.

Group A.

  1. Al Ahly
  2. Esperance
  3. KCCA FC
  4. Township Rollers

Group B.

  1. TP Mazembe
  2. ES Setif
  3. Difaa Jadidi
  4. MC Alger

Group C.

  1. AS Togo Port
  2. Mamelodi Sundowns
  3. Wydad Casablanca
  4. Horoya

Group D.

  1. Zesco United
  2. Premiere de Agusto
  3. ESS Tunis
  4. Mbabane Swallows.




All rights reserved. The information contained in this website may not be published, broadcast, re-written or re- distributed without the prior written authority of the publishers

Copyright © 2017. PML Daily

To Top