Cubs take shape ahead of CECAFA championships

Cubs Head coach Peter Onen has dropped seven players as the U17 team continues its preparations for the upcoming CECAFA games.

CECAFA U17 Challenge cup 2017

April 1st-15th, 2017

Bujumbura, Burundi

The Uganda U17 national team, the Cubs who are currently training at Njeru technical centre took a major shake up this morning as the team was trimmed to 24.

Initially, the technical team led by coach Peter Onen summoned 32 players to start preparations but seven have been dropped after the early morning session.

“Last week we summoned 32 players but we all knew that we at some point had to reduce the number and that is what we have started doing effective this morning, said Onen.

“We have dropped seven players as our preparations hit full gear so we will remain with 24 as per now.

“The lads that remain are to be prepared tactically, physically, psychologically and technically for the tournament proper come next month.

The Cubs were last in action in 2014 when they lost home and Away to Zambia in the Africa U17 qualifiers.


The seven dropped players include:

Matovu Geoffrey(Bright Stars), Timothy Odong(KCCA), Ssemwanga Abdul(Police), Obira Rogers(KCCA), Baliddawa Kasim(KCCA), Arinaitwe Collins(Kimanya ss) and Mukisa Edrine(Kirinya).


The remaining 24:

Goalkeepers; Nsubuga Farouk (Masavu FC JT), Kiberu Ronald (Express SA), Ssemwogerere Daniel (UPDF FC JT), Oluka George William (Budo

Defenders; Rasul Muhamad (Onduparaka FC JT), Rogers John (Onduparaka FC JT), Musa Jaggwe (Vipers SC JT), Ibrahim Juma (KCCA SA), Kizito Garvin(SC Villa Jogoo JT), Kafumbe Joseph (Budo SS).

Midfielder; Edema Farouk (Onduparaka FC JT), Asaba Ivan (Vipers SC JT), Kirya Gerald (Vipers SC JT), Kakaire Thomas (Vipers SC JT), Ssebuliba Umar (Masavu FC JT), Kawooya Andrew (Proline SA), Ssekajja Davis (Bright
Stars FC JT), Ekellot Ibrahim (Bright Stars FC JT), Akena Pius (Maroons FC JT)

Forwards; Iddi Abdulwahid (Onduparaka FC JT), Anthony Kenty (Onduparaka FC JT), Mpanga Sula(Vipers SC JT), Bakabulindi Moses (Vipers SC JT), Mugisha Rogers Mukisa Owen (BUL FC JT)

Technical team:

Head Coach: Onen Peter
Assistant Coach: Lutalo Hamza
Goalkeeping Coach: Kiberu Mubarak
Media Officer: Hassan Kirunda




All rights reserved. The information contained in this website may not be published, broadcast, re-written or re- distributed without the prior written authority of the publishers

Copyright © 2017. PML Daily

To Top