FUFA awards launched today

The chairperson FUFA Awards organising committee, Dennis Mbidde (left);  FUFA marketing manager, Esther Musoke (second left), Rogers Byamukama(center) and Remy Kisakye(second right) at the launch of the awards. Photo by Shaban Benteke.

FOOTBALL–The third edition of the FUFA Airtel Awards have been launched Thursday at Kampala Serena Hotel.

The Airtel sponsored awards will be held at Speke Resort Munyonyo on Friday, December 1, 2017.

Dennis Mbidde, the chairman of the 2017 FUFA Awards organising committee, while addressing journalists hailed the sponsors, partners, players, fans and the entire football fraternity for the support.

Mbidde also stressed the importance of the awards to the football fraternity in Uganda.

“The awards are to reward excellence and efforts of the players for the season gone by,” Mbidde said.

“These awards are motivational. Winners of these awards for the past editions have climbed a ladder or two in their respective careers. From Faruku Miya, Sandra Nabweteeme, Hasifa Nassuna to Muhammed Shaban, you can see a leap forward,” he added.

Airtel has offered Shs100m towards the Awards organisation.

Airtel Uganda brand & communications manager Remmy Kisakye pledged Aitel’s continued support to the Awards.
“For three years now, we are glad to be associated with the Airtel FUFA Awards,” Kisakye said.

Airtel will this year be joined by National Insurance Corperation who offered Shs10 million to the event and Round Bob who will facilitate the travel expenses to the Middle East for the two winners in both the men and women categories.

FUFA executive committee member Rogers Byamukama, also the FUFA chairman Marketing committee represented the FUFA President, Eng. Moses Magogo at the launch.

Catergories of the awards:
There are 11 categories of the awards to be given out on that black tie awards night.
Male Airtel FUFA Award, Female Airtel FUFA Award, FUFA Best XI, FUFA Presidential Award, FUFA Fair Play Award, FUFA Up coming Talent, FUFA Referees Award, FUFA Coach of the year, Beach Soccer Player of the year, Fans’ player of the year -Ugandan & other leagues foreign based.

MVP Nominees:
The final list for the Most Valuable Players was determined by the coaches in the Azam Uganda Premier League.
Male: Geofrey Sserunkuma (KCCA, Buildcon and Uganda Cranes), Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA and Uganda Cranes ), Tadeo Lwanga (SC Villa, Vipers and Uganda Cranes)

Female: Hasfa Nassuna (Kawempe Muslim, UCU Lady Cardinals and Crested Cranes), Vanesa Karungi (Olila High School), Fazila Ikwaput (Olila High School and Crested Cranes)
Each of the MVP (male and female) will drive home with a grand prize of a car.

Voting Criteria:
Fans will be involved in the determining the Most Valuable Player through SMS voting courtesy of SMS one media.




All rights reserved. The information contained in this website may not be published, broadcast, re-written or re- distributed without the prior written authority of the publishers

Copyright © 2017. PML Daily

To Top