Masaza Cup: Defending champions Buddu held as Ssingo win

Saturday May 13

  • Buddu 0-0 Mawogola

Sunday May 14

  • Kooki 1-0 Kabula
  • Mawokota 1-2 Butambala
  • Busiro 1-2 Buvuma
  • Buwekula 0-0 Gomba
  • Busujju 0-2 Ssingo
  • Bugerere 2-1 Kyaggwe
  • Buluuli 1-1 Bulemeezi

Masaza Cup champions Buddu started the defence of their title on a drub note playing out a dour draw at home to Mawogola at Masaka Recreation Grounds. Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi who graced the match would have wished for a goal to coat the game, but that was not to be.

The defending champions, who missed a host of chances, failed to capitalise on the numerical disadvantage over Mawogola who had Alex Vvubya sent off at the hour mark. Buddu coach Steven Bogere, who has pledged to the fans that he will defend the title, couldn’t replicate the performance of last season that saw Buddu beat Mawogola 3-0 when these sides faced off on the same ground.

Other results

In other results, Allan Kabonge’s Buweekula registered a goalless draw with Gomba, Shafiq Bisaso’s Ssingo were 2-0 winners against Busujju courtesy of Steven Mukwaala”s brace. Buvuma, coached by Farouk Kigongo, picked their first Masaza Cup win against Busiro in Ssentema, Mawokota lost to Butambala in a game played in Buwama. The 2006 champions Kooki were won their tie against Kabula, while Bugerere beat Kyaggwe in Kayunga and Buluuli and 2012 champions Bulemeezi ended in a 1-all draw.

Past Winners

2016 – Buddu

2015 – Ssingo

2014 – Gomba

2013 – Mawokota

2012– Bulemeezi

2011– Buluri

2010– [Not Held]

2009– Gomba

2008– Kyadondo

2007– Mawokota

2006– Kooki

2005- Mawokota

2004- Gomba




All rights reserved. The information contained in this website may not be published, broadcast, re-written or re- distributed without the prior written authority of the publishers

Copyright © 2017. PML Daily

To Top