Uganda re-elected to ITU council, rejected at Radio Regulations Board

ICT minister Frank Tumwebaze hare an insight with the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) Secretary-General- H. E Houlin Zhao in the ongoing conference in Dubai

DUBAI – Uganda has been re-elected to the Council membership of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) for the 2019-2022 cycle.

The news was confirmed by Ms Pamela Ankunda, the head of communications; Uganda Communications Commission (UCC), ICT minister Frank Tumwebaze and the President Yoweri Museveni.

“Congratulations to the Ugandan team upon election to the ITU governing council,” President Yoweri Museveni said in a Twitter post upon receiving the news.

Out of 177 votes, Uganda got 114 votes to be elected to the governing council.

Ms Ankunda also confirmed that ITU Member States in Dubai have also elected the members of Radio Regulations Board and the Member States that will serve the ITU Council.

The RRB is a part-time body of 12 members representing ITU’s five regions.

According to Ms Ankunda, while Uganda has been re-elected, the country’s candidate, Eng. Simon Bugaba came fourth in the just concluded elections where three candidates were chosen for RRB Region D ( Africa) for the period 2019-2022.

It is the RRB’s job to approve the rules of procedure in application of the radio regulations, the international treaty governing the use of the radio-frequency spectrum and the use of satellite orbits.

The RRB also serves as an appeal board in case of disputes and provides advice to World Radiocommunication Conferences and radio communication assemblies.

The winning candidates to serve from 2019-2023 are:

  • The Americas – Chantal Beaumier (Canada); Fernando Borjón Figueroa (Mexico).
  • Western Europe – Yvon Henri (France); Lilian Jeanty (Netherlands)
  • Eastern Europe and Northern Asia – Sahiba Hasanova (Azerbaijan); Nikolay Varlamov (Russian Federation).
  • Africa – Elsayed Azzouz (Egypt); Samuel Mandla Mchunu (South Africa); Hassan Talib (Morocco).
  • Asia/Australasia – Tariq Alamri (Saudi Arabia); Akira Hashimoto (Japan); Doan Quang Hoan (Viet Nam).




All rights reserved. The information contained in this website may not be published, broadcast, re-written or re- distributed without the prior written authority of the publishers

Copyright © 2017. PML Daily

To Top