NRM sacks anti-age limit MPs from committee leaderships, rewards supporters

Government Chief Whip Ruth Nankabirwa on Tuesday confirmed the appointment by NRM party.

KAMPALA – The National Resistance Movement (NRM) has removed from the leadership of parliamentary committees all its MPs who opposed the age limit bill last year and instead appointed to the same positions those legislators that supported the controversial amendment.

According to the names read out by Government Chief Whip Ruth Nankabirwa on Tuesday include Kampala Central MP Mohammad Nsereko, who has been sacked as chairman of the Equal Opportunities Committee and replaced by Ms Hellen Asamo [PWDs Eastern].

In the changes, the Health Committee will be headed by Bukenya Michael [Bukuya County], who will be deputized by Spellanza Baguma [Kyejonjo Woman MP].

The chairmanship of the Legal and Parliamentary Affairs Committee has been retained by Jacob Oboth Oboth [West Budama County South], deputized by Sam Bitangaro [Bufumbira County North].

Amolatar Woman MP Doreen Amule, who seconded the motion on debating the age limit Bill, becomes the chairperson of the Defence and Internal Affairs Committee, replaceing Mityana Woman MP Judith Nabakooba.

The Natural Resources Committee will be headed by Kiwanuka Keefa [Kiboga East] and deputized by

Biyika Lawrence [Ora County]. Onzima Godfrey [Yumbe County North] will headed the Public Services Committee with Karungi Elizabeth[Kanungu Woman MP] as his deputy.

The Committee on Tourism, Trade and Industry will be headed by Kasule Robert[Nansana Municipality] deputized by Lawrence Mangusho[Kween County] . The Committee on Science,Technologhy and Innovation will be headed by Bwino Fred [Kigulu County North] and deputized by Mutebi David Ronald [Buikwe County South].

Ms Hellen Asamo [PWDs Eastern].
replaces Kampala Central MP Mohammad Nsereko, as chairman of the Equal Opportunities Committee (FILE PHOTO_

Dokolo North County MP Paul Amoru, who was among the most enthusiastic supporters of the Bill, is the new Vice Chairperson of the Committee on Information and Communication Technology.

The Foreign Affairs Committee will be headed by Hood Katuramu [PWDs Western] and Akurut Violet [Katakwi Woman MP] will be the deputy. The Committee on Gender, Labour and Social Development is headed by Alex Ndezi [PWDS,Central] , deputized by Beatrice Anywar[Kitgum Municipality].

Committee on Agriculture,Animal Industry annd Fisheries will be headed by Janet Okori-Moe Akech[Abim Woman MP], with Lawrence Agukizibwe [Mwenge County North] as deputy.

Presidential Affairs Committee chairperson is Jessica Ababiku [Adjumani Woman MP] deputized by

Esther Anyakun [Nakapiririti Woman MP] The East African Community Affairs committee chairman is Ouma George [Bukooli Island County] , qith Ameede Agnes[Paliisa Woman MP] as deputy.

Physical Infrastructure is Robert Sekitoleko [Nakifuma County] with Kumama Nsamba [Bbaale County] as the deputy.

A committee chairpersons earns Shs 2.4m per month while their deputies earn Shs 1.8m. These payments attract a 40% tax.

Some of the those who have lost positions include Fort portal Municipality MP Alex Ruhunda, Buvuma Islands MP Migadde Robert, Amuria Woman MP Susan Amero, Kiryadongo Woman MP Hellen Kahunde and Mbale Woman MP Connie Nakayenze.



All rights reserved. The information contained in this website may not be published, broadcast, re-written or re- distributed without the prior written authority of the publishers

Copyright © 2017. PML Daily

To Top