NRM’s Matsiko vows to win back Rukungiri MP seat as 6 are nominated

Ms Matsiko addresses journalists after her nomination at Rukungiri District offices on Thursday: PML DAILY PHOTOS

NRM’s Winnie Matsiko was on Thursday nominated as the NRM candidate for Rukungiri Woman MP by-election and vowed to reclaim the seat after her 2016 victory was annulled by the Court of Appeal in March.

Addressing her supporters in Rukungiri Stadium on Thursday, Ms Matsiko said she will to prove that she won genuinely and did not rig.

Former Minister Jim Muhwezi (left) escorted Ms Matsiko for nomination.

“I have come back to justify that I won the 2016 election I have been given a second chance to prove that I won and that I did not steal votes. I am highly hopeful that my voters are still there and they will vote me back, I am sure NRM is strong in Rukungiri and given my personal record as an MP I am sure I shall will this by-election,” Ms Matsiko said.

Ms Matsiko’s convoy escorted by NRM party supporters.

The ruling party supporters painted Rukungiri Town yellow as they accompanied Ms Matsiko to the nomination venue.

The event was graced by several NRM bigwigs, among them former Rujumbura County MP Gen Jim Muhwezi, Ntungamo Woman MP Beatrice Rwakimari and former Makerere University Chancellor Prof Mondo Kagonyera.

The supporters drove atop vehicles and on motorcycles chanting songs of party chairman Yoweri Museveni. The nomination then climaxed with a rally at Rukungiri Stadium.

We should not lose this election, let them make the noise they want and I beg you to leave sectarian politics and concentrate on politics that will develop our people, tell the people about the party they love, they will vote us back,” Gen Muhwezi told the NRM supporters.

In total, six candidates were nominated for the by-election, which will take place on May 31. They are FDC’s Betty Muzanira, NRM’s Winifred Matsiko, Ms Fabith Kukundakwe of People’s Progressive Party’s and independent candidates Sheila Atukunda Kirebete, Seith Mbaguta and Elizabeth Rwakitonera.

The seat was declared vacant on March 22 by the Court of Appeal which rendered NRM’s Winnie Matsiko’s 2016 victory invalid following a petition by Forum for Democratic Change’ s Betty Bamukwasa Muzanira
















All rights reserved. The information contained in this website may not be published, broadcast, re-written or re- distributed without the prior written authority of the publishers

Copyright © 2017. PML Daily

To Top