Rukungiri EC returning officer withdrawn

EC Chairperson Justice Simon Byabakama (Courtesy Photo)

The Rukungiri Electoral Commission (EC) chairman, Mr. Pius Ahimbisibwe, was on Thursday April 19 relieved of his duties ahead of the district woman MP by-election next month.

Mr. Ahimbisibwe, who was in charge of the 2016 general elections in the district has been replaced with Umar Kiyimba.

The race for the district Woman Representative has become contentious ever since court on March 22, 2018, nullified the election of Mrs. Winfred Komuhangi Matsiko following a petition by Betty Muzanira (FDC) over anomalies in the 2016 election.

Mr Kiyimba was introduced on Thursday by EC chairman Justice Simon Byabakama, during the stakeholders’ meeting at Riverside Inn in Rukungiri Municipality.

Justice Byabakama said the commission could not risk to have Ahimbisibwe who presided over an election that led to a petition challenging the result, when the same candidates are still on the ticket.

He also said other necessary precautionary measures were being taken to avoid a re-occurrence of the irregularities that prompted the cancellation of the election.

“We cannot allow the same man to run the process, and we need to be seen to be acting transparently. He accepted his mess in court, he has been suspended this is Hakuna Muchezo,” Justice Byabakama said.

The candidates will be nominated from May 2 and 3, 2018 at Rukungiri district headquarters and campaigns shall be conducted starting May 4 to May 29, 2018.

NRM’s Matsiko is set to rerun against Betty Muzanira of FDC, while Sheila Atukunda Kirebete has also shown interest in the seat and pinned posters



All rights reserved. The information contained in this website may not be published, broadcast, re-written or re- distributed without the prior written authority of the publishers

Copyright © 2017. PML Daily

To Top