Ochola moves ‘Kayihura loyalists’ out of IGP’s office, 23 transferred

IGP Martin Okoth-Ochola (right) shares a light moment with his deputy Sabitti Muzeyi during the handover ceremony at police headquarters in Naguru on Thursday.

The Inspector General of Police, Mr Martin Okoth-Ochola has transferred 23 senior police officers in what is seen as an attempt to uproot loyalists to former police chief Kale Kayihura and stamp his own authority on the Force.

In a police message issued on Monday evening, Mr Okoth-Ochola moved senior officers at the ranks of Assistant Inspector General of Police, Senior Commissioner of Police, Commissioner of Police, Assistant Commissioner of Police, Senior Superintendent of Police and Senior Commissioner of Police.

The most affected is the IGP’s office.

Key among those affected is Abasi Byakagaba, who moves from oil and gas unit to Counter Terrorism Unit as director.

Stephen Tanui moves from the IGP’ office to Deputy director construction division. Anne Tusiime is the new director of the Construction Division, from the IGP’s office.

Lawrence Nuwabiine will move from the IGP’s office to Welfare and Production Division as commissioner while Brazil Mugisha moves from Logistics and Engineering department at Traffic and Road safety department as Deputy director. Chris Kasalawo is the deputy director Oil and Gas department from the Field Force Unit. Richard Edyegu also leaves the IGP’s office to logistics and Engineering department, while ACP Sarah Kibwika is the acting commissioner of police in charge of traffic operations.

Stephen Onecan moves from Greater Bushenyi to Amuria as OC station Kapelebyong while Frank Kyahurwa heads to the CID headquarters from the IGP’s office.

Also moved is Paul Kakamba from Kidepo region to Regional Police Commander Kampala Metropolitan South.

The appointments take immediate effect. More details on the list attached.




All rights reserved. The information contained in this website may not be published, broadcast, re-written or re- distributed without the prior written authority of the publishers

Copyright © 2017. PML Daily

To Top